nomorecomplaints

Just another WordPress.com site

It doesn’t count when you are sick, right? January 5, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — nomorecomplaints @ 2:37 pm
Tags: , , ,

In my previous post I mentioned that I had caught a cold and was trying my darndest not to complain about it. However, if someone is rude to you while you are buying medicine for said cold it doesn’t count to complain afterward, right?

It all began yesterday morning during my morning walk with a friend. Normally we just kind of roam around the neighborhood, but I actually had a few errands I wanted run since I was out and she kindly agreed to come along with me.

What started it was that I had items due at the library on Monday which I returned, but there was one little hitch. I hadn’t actually put the DVD inside one of the cases. Oops. So I needed to walk by the library and pop that sucker in the after hours box on Tuesday morning in order to avoid getting a fine. Since the library happens to be right next to the drugstore, I figured buying a decongestant was probably a wise choice.

I headed to the cold medicine aisle, where they keep a variety of cards for all of stuff you have to get from the pharmacy counter these days. I selected one and walked back. There was no line. And there was a girl standing at the register, but she was counting change. Now, I had no problem waiting while she finished, but a friendly “I’ll be right with you” would have been nice. I spent a few minutes just standing there wondering if she had seen me, despite the fact that my friend and I were having a conversation directly in front of her.

When she finished counting she finally looked at my with a super lovely “what do you want” expression on her face, so I handed her the card and said I just wanted a box. After a fleeting glance at the medicine shelf she retorted “We don’t have any” in a way that implied I was an idiot for even asking.

Well, just a though, but if you don’t have it, maybe take down the cards? But I kept that witty retort to myself and asked if there were any similar options.

“Yeah, back there,” she said, gesturing at the wall behind her. There were a number of shelves and they did have medicine on them, but since the pharmacy area is raised up and the medicine I was interested in was on the top two shelves I wasn’t able to actually see the options, which I politely mentioned. She huffed over to actually look for me and I finally got a box of decongestant. But our fun exchange had not yet ended and she gave me the third degree about not signing the electronic thingy fast enough (why not just tell me “please sign the electronic thingy”??) after which I was able to go on my merry way.

I said thank you and got a sort of “yeah, whatever-ish” response. Needless to say, I crumbled once we left the store and complained about all these things. I mean, this clerk had really pushed me past my “being nice while feeling like poo” limits. But I am admitting it and that is the first step toward complaint recovery, right?

— Annie

 

Leave a comment